Saturday Scoreboard


Narrabri snatched victory from Moree’s grasp in Saturday’s first elimination final in another enthralling battle between the two arch rivals.

Wade Maloney put the Blue Boars in front for the first time in the game with seven minutes to go and they held for a 22-18 win.

Earlier Inverell pipped Tamworth 34-31 in second grade, while Moree trounced Narrabri 57-29 in the U19s and Tamworth were victorious 22-14 over Narrabri in the U17s.


Tamworth FC went up by a goal twice at Scully Park on Saturday and twice the Mushies clawed their way back into the match with equalising goals to see the sides draw 2-2 their Northern Inland Premier League first grade match.

In other first grade matches, East Armidale got up easily, 11-2, over South Armidale, Demon Knights also won by nine goals when they beat Joeys 9-0 and it was much closer in the final match as Norths United beat North Companions 1-0.

In reserve grade, South Armidale won 6-0 against East Armidale, Demon Knights beat Joeys 5-0, Norths United got up 3-0 over Companions and OVA beat Tamworth FC 9-0.


The Tamworth Thunderbolts have made it through to the State League Division 1 final following a commanding 92-65 victory over Canberra in Maitland today.

The only time the Thunderbolts trailed in the match was during the first minute after Canberra scored the first points but from then on it was all Tamworth.

The Bolts will play the grand final tomorrow.


Kootingal-Moonbi mirrored North Tamworth’s performance against Gunnedah a week ago when they produced a sublime opening first half to humble four-placed Manilla 52-10 at Kootingal on Saturday and secure the minor premiership.

In doing so, the Roosters – competition leaders since round four in a two-loss season – showed their premiership rivals that they have another gear, like the Bears did.

As with the Norths-Gunnedah clash, the match was effectively over at half-time with the Roosters leading 36-0 following a four-try haul to centre Logan Howard.  

In other matches,

Barraba 34 d Dungowan 18

Bendemeer 44 d Boggabri 36

Bundarra 16 d Walcha 0 (game forfeited due to injury)

Uralla 30 d Werris Creek 16

Bingara Bye

Ladies League Tag

Kootingal 54 d Manilla 1

Walcha 34 d Bundarra 6

Barraba 14 d Dungowan 10

Boggabri 12 d Bendemeer 10

Uralla 24 d Werris Creek 12