Cowboys go full bore at Armidale

Armidale Rodeo on the weekend saw some of Australia’s best cowboys and cowgirls competing to secure their position for the National Finals and trying to gain last-minute points to better their position in the National standings.

The Bull Ride was highly contested, with both first and second place being won by rookie competitors. 

Clint Glass won with a score of 86 points with Nathan Burtenshaw second on 84 points. 

The Saddle Bronc saw Manilla contestant Robert Bandy take home first place with a score of 82 points while the Bareback was won by Darren Clarke with a score of 81 points.

The Steer Wrestling saw Willow Tree cowboy Scott Fitzpatrick in first place with a quick time of 4.01 seconds.

 Shane Iker secured first place in the Rope & Tie whilst Ben Smith and Troy O’Neile took home the Team Roping honours. 

The Steer Undecorating was extremely competitive, with all five placegetters under two seconds. 

Emily Harris stopped the clock in 1.65 seconds for first place. 

Jessica Norton made a quick catch in the Breakaway, bringing in first place in only 2.71 seconds. 

The Barrel Race saw 2011 All Round Cowgirl Nichole Fitzpatrick and Murrurundi-based contender Jo Farquhar cross the finishing line with the equal fastest time of the day – 15.41 


The Matt Swadling Memorial Junior Breakaway saw a total of 25 competitors, with Queensland’s Campbell Hodson stopping the clock in 3.17 seconds to take home first place honours in the event.

Sunday’s competition saw Joel Mancell and Blake Hallam win the Team Roping with a quick time of 6.15 seconds. Backing up her win on Saturday in the Barrel Race was Nichole Fitzpatrick, once again crossing the line with the fastest time of the day. 

Braith Nock scored 73 points to win the 8-U11 Junior Steer Ride, Jack Ramon and Nicholas Penrose tied for first in the 11-U14 Junior Steer Ride, and Daniel Rogan and Bradie Gray both scored 76 to equal first place in the 14-U18 Juvenile Steer ride.

Bianca Canham won the Junior Breakaway with a time of 3.23 seconds and then went on to ride in the 11-U14 Junior Barrel where she stopped the clock in 16.66 seconds to finish second behind Dana Jane Nock on 15.90 seconds. 

Matt Canham won the U11 Junior Barrel Race and Jaimee Lee Plum won the 14-U18 Juvenile Barrel Race.

ABCRA National Finals Rodeo tickets are now available from or phone 02 6767 5300. 

Jesse Glass (Tamworth) has one angry beast underneath him. 171112GRC10

Jesse Glass (Tamworth) has one angry beast underneath him. 171112GRC10