Armidale District Cricket: Hillgrove beat rivals Easts

RUNS ON THE BOARD: Brad King top scored for Hillgrove with 44 against Easts.
RUNS ON THE BOARD: Brad King top scored for Hillgrove with 44 against Easts.

The bowlers in the Armidale District Cricket first grade competition have dominated the outcome of matches so far and it was the case again for the grand final rematch on Saturday between Hillgrove and Easts. 

Hillgrove won the toss and elected to bat but faltered at the start as openers Matt Baillie and Andrew Brownlie were sent packing for two and one.

Captain Matt Schaefer added to Hillgrove’s early woes as he was dismissed for one. Up stepped Will Archer (25) and Brad King (44) who put runs on the board for Hillgrove.

They were backed up by Michael Cursons and Jack Carey for the reigning premiers to finish with 144. 

“Brad King came out, hasn't been to training for about two years, he came out and got 44,” Schaefer said. 

“He batted really well and didn't give any chances, looked good at the crease and just does Brad King things, can score them whenever he wants and wherever he wants. Michael Cursons came and filled in for a game, he flew back to South Africa yesterday, he got 16. Jack Carey at the end got 23 and batted really well down the order.”

Hillgrove were missing key bowlers in Sean Skinner and Max Laurie but the current champions proved they could get the job done without them. 

Wickets tumbled for Easts and Hillgrove managed to finished them off for 97.

Liam Howard opened the bowling to send Dean Moore back to the sheds for six runs. 

Easts recruit Clarrie Moran followed shortly after with a run out on five before Schaefer snagged key batsman Todd Francis for a duck. 

“I felt I bowled pretty tight and got a couple of wickets, I bowled Todd Francis for a duck which was really good and I gave him a bit of a sendoff as well,” Schaefer said. 

“I got Aaron Whackett the next over as well.” 

Archer chimed in with 2-32 while Matt Baillie “cleaned up” the tail with 3-23.

Ex-Services also won as they beat Guyra.