Kookaburras have the last laugh two years in a row

THE Kookaburras Cricket Club has once again won the premiership after drawing the final against Albion over the weekend.

It was a replay of last year’s final, and although the result was the same, the game took a different turn.

After securing the minor premiership with a stellar season of cricket that had them well ahead of the pack, Kookaburras didn’t have to do much to secure the title on a rain-affected wicket.

With the match cut short and timed innings coming into play, the minor premiers only had to draw to take the title and that is exactly how it played out.

Captain Paddy Paul won the toss and sent Albion into bat, who lost some wickets at some crucial times but still managed to set the reasonable total of 186.

In reply, Kookaburras played safe and cherished their wickets and the title rather than the glory of a good chase.

Needing to face 70 overs, the captain opened the batting and played a captain’s innings of sorts.

Paul batted through the entire 77 overs, to remain not out on 65 at the close of play and lift the JVJ McAdam Cup.

Kookaburras were three down for 137 at the close of play.

“They held us at bay with their bowling,” Paul said.

“I am sure the crowd was thrilled with the exciting game and there was plenty of talk in the middle.” 

“But they just bowled stump to stump and we couldn’t get away.” 

After Albion finished the close of play on Saturday at 5/104, Paul thought his side let them get away and score too many runs in the morning.

“We bowled really well but they got away from us.” 

Troy Sands, Vinnie Winsor and Cameron Milne were the pick of the bowlers.

“We went out to bat but just couldn’t get the runs away,” Paul said. “Luckily we hung on for the draw and have got two in a row.”

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide