Local engagement key to preserving rivers and wetlands in Murray Darling Basin.

Neil Foster, Tamworth.

Neil Foster, Tamworth.

Six permanent local engagement officers have been appointed to work with communities to protect rivers and wetlands across the Murray Darling Basin.

Three new officers will join three incumbents, ensuring good coverage across the Basin. Local engagement officers will now be based in Walgett, Tamworth, Wodonga and Wagga Wagga, in addition to Mildura and Berri.

The Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder David Papps said people seeking to be involved in the decision-making around Commonwealth environmental water can be assured they will have access to local officers on the ground who are dedicated to ensuring local knowledge and experience is built into water use planning.

“We have recruited highly experienced people who come from all walks of life but share solid technical knowledge and good connections into Murray-Darling Basin communities,” Mr Papps said.

“The six officers will work individually, and together, using their complementary skills across catchments and state borders.

“Maintaining dialogue with people throughout the Basin, so they are involved in planning and decision making, is an important part of the work of environmental water managers including the Commonwealth.

“All Commonwealth Environmental Water Office staff are committed to creating opportunities for interested local people, including Aboriginal people, to be involved in local environmental water use. This engagement is a critical part of our “Good Neighbour Policy”.

The local engagement officers are:

  • Neil Foster - Tamworth
  • Jason Wilson – Walgett.
  • Michelle Campbell - Berri
  • Richard Mintern – Mildura
  • Erin Lenon – Wagga Wagga
  • Anthony Wilson– Wodonga


Discuss "Water officers will help keep locals engaged in management process for Murray Darling"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.