Horse Racing: Brett Thompson nominates four for Sunday's Romantic Dream

TAMWORTH Jockey Club could finish with a full field for Sunday’s $22,000 Hygain Romantic Dream 2YO Plate (1000m).

The club finished with 14 nominations for the juvenile dash, the traditional starting race for two-year-olds in the Hunter and North West Racing Association.

They can start 14 in the sprint which is the highlight of Sunday’s TAB meeting.

The TJC received 139 nominations for the meeting and while Monday’s rain left the track at a Heavy 8 TJC general manager, Kay Jeffrey, is confident it will dry out to a good racing surface come Sunday.

“We thought we might have had a few more noms than that,” she said of the near 140 figure.

“But we do have meetings at Cessnock and Coffs Harbour on Friday and then Gulargambone on Saturday.”

She said the Romantic Dream 2YO is always a race of great interest with some of the nominated juveniles having trialled at Tamworth last week.

“There were some quite impressive trials here, I think it will be a quality race again,” she said.

“The track is a Heavy 8 at the moment but with the weather is the grass is growing like crazy and it does look a picture at the moment.”

Gulgong trainer Brett Thompson might be hard to hold out on Sunday too.

He’s nominated four two-year-olds – Alotafox, Clever Missile, Livvy and Marada. All four trialled at Tamworth last week with Alotafox just beating stablemate Livvy in one 795m trial in 47.38secs and Clever Missile beat Marada in the other trial by 2.6 lengths in 48.70secs.

Port Macquarie trainer Neil Godbolt, who won last year’s Romantic Dream with Harnova, can add to his number of Romantic Dream successes with Harbour Watch gelding Star of Theharbour and Hinchinbrook filly Taken On Chance.

HYGAIN ROMANTIC DREAM NOMINATIONS (1000m Sunday): Alotafox (Brett Thompson), Annarose (Wayne Wilkes), Clever Missile (Brett Thompson), Come ‘N’ Goes (Luke Thomas), Eldorado Dreaming (Ben Smith), Gone West (Paul Perry) , Impulsive Maneuver (Jim Jarvis), Kacper Boy (Jane Clement), Livvy (Brett Thompson), Logsplitter (Jenny Graham), Marada (Brett Thompson), Pleasure Bomb (Luke Thomas), Star Of Theharbour (Neil Godbolt), Taken On Chance (Neil Godbolt).