Backrower sweeps Dungowan awards

DUNGOWAN Cowboys celebrated another good season at the Locomotive Hotel in Tamworth on a night where outstanding backrower Clint Ridley roped in the major awards.

Club president Bruce Henry said Friday night’s presentation  was a good finish to a year where the Cowboy hopes had been derailed by injuries.

He hopes captain-coach Luke Taylor will return to spearhead the Cowboys nest season.

“He might and he might not,”  Henry said.

“He did say if he gets the player he wants from Newcastle he will.”

Henry said Sean Ferguson would return although the club has lost Scott Henry (knee reconstruction), Andrew Thomas, Harry Altus and a retiring Damien Pittman.

“Damien has retired again,” Henry said of a utility player who has racked up 163 games for the Cowboys.

He’s one of six players to have played more than 100 games, along  with Justin Gleeson (108), Scott Henry (126), Tim Walsh (151), Ben Tongue (171) and Paul Tongue (174).

Henry said  Ridley’s awards were well deserved.

Ridley received the coaches’ award as well as the Players’ Player and Best and Fairest Awards on a night where Chris Gooch was Most Improved and MVP, Mitch Brown was best back and Scott Henry best forward.

Matt Brady was most consistent.

The Cowgirls, who were sponsored by the Loco, had a variety of winners for their awards.

Libby Welsh won the coaches’ award, Sammy Judd was most improved and Lisa Jenner the MVP. Best back went to Sarah Stackman, best forward to Emma Kate Bates and Players’ Player to Sarah Ridley.

Breanna Trickett received the Best and Fairest while Morgan Bates was Most Consistent.


Discuss "Backrower sweeps Dungowan awards"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.