WA to tackle Northern Territory in curtain raiser

WESTERN Australia and Northern Territory will play for the John Allen Trophy tomorrow, a main curtain raiser to the all-Queensland Under 15 Championship Final between the Queensland Maroon and White sides.

Nivek Wrigley takes the tackle of CCC’s Samuel Liliomaiava yesterday.  Photo: Geoff O’Neill 250614GOE04

Nivek Wrigley takes the tackle of CCC’s Samuel Liliomaiava yesterday. Photo: Geoff O’Neill 250614GOE04

WA and Northern Territory earned their final berths in the affiliated schools division after good wins yesterday.

WA beat beat Victoria 20-6 with Tim Stinson a standout and Northern Territory had a 52-6 victory over South Australia with Braydon Daly leading the way.

Grant Edwards, president of the Australian Secondary Schools Rugby League, said John Allen was a former president of the ASSRL in the early ‘80s.

“He had the idea of the affiliated schools playing in the championship.

“It’s because of him they are here.

“His widow Robyn is here too and will present the trophy on Friday.”

A merit side from the affiliated schools division – NT, WA, South Australia and Victoria – will also be named tomorrow along with a merit side from the six-team main pool of teams.

For Wayne Adams, coach of the Queensland White side, making the final is a rare feat.

“We’ve made the final once before,” he said after yesterday’s 14-10 success over NSWCCC catapulted the side into a championships final against the Queensland Maroons.

His White side is effectively the number two team in the State.

“When we picked the two teams they had the first crack at the best 20,” Adams said.

“I sorted out the rest. The boys have done well. We have had a good draw but you have to make the most of your opportunities.”

NSW CCC coach Chris O’Connell was disappointed in some stiff penalties which led to a crucial try from big Queensland prop Laurence Tominiko

“We were terrible in the first half though,” O’Connell said.

“Played okay in the second but made too many errors.”

Luke Rose was named the White’s best player while Curtis Wilson was CCC’s best.

n The schoolboy championships continue at Jack Woolaston Oval today with two matches at 10.30am and 11.50am.


Semi Final A: QUEENSLAND WHITE 14 (Kyle Paterson, Laurence Tominiko tries, Jacob Fairbank 2, Joel Hughes gls d NSWCCC 10 (Curtis Wilson, Luke Brooks tries, Zac Lomax gl) Players of the match: Queensland White 17 - Luke Rose (St Peter Claver College, Ipswich), NSWCCC 14 - Curtis Wilson (Holy Cross College, Ryde)

Semi Final B: QUEENSLAND MAROON 11 (Jayden Bishop, Josiah Cox tries, Travis Turnbull fld gl, Travis Turnbull gl) d NSWCHS 10 (Mawene Hiroti, Kytak Chan tries, Mawene Hiroti gl) Players of the match: Queensland Maroon 20 - Travis Turnbull (Harristown State High School, Toowoomba), NSWCHS 11 - Zac Saddler (Yanco Agriculture High School, Yanco)

WESTERN AUSTRALIA 20 (Shaun White, Wilson Wai, Jacob Thomas, Ashlea Tunbridge tries, Nika Morehu, Timothy Stinson gls) d VICTORIA 6 (Sulio Fifita try, Chase Aporo gl) Players of the match: Western Australia 9 - Timothy Stinson (South Fremantle Senior High School, Fremantle), Victoria 5 - Kees Fong (Bacchus Marsh Grammar, Tarneit)

NORTHERN TERRITORY 52 (Ramone Lewin 2, William Fox 2, Leslie Marony, William Nugraha, Rodney Baird, Brayden Daly, Layland Dawson, Jonathon Malicsi tries, Toby Barr 4, Leslie Marony 2gls) d SOUTH AUSTRALIA 6 (Koby Sikorski try, Koby Sikorski gl) Players of the match: Northern Territory 23 - Braydon Daly (Sanderson Middle School, Darwin), South Australia 9 - Tyson Brown (Henley High School, Henley Beach)


Discuss "WA to tackle Northern Territory in curtain raiser"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.