Group 4 stages special meeting

Gunnedah was the venue as Group 4 held a special meeting on Sunday.

New moniker: Mick Schmiedel is now chairman of Group 4.

New moniker: Mick Schmiedel is now chairman of Group 4.

The meeting saw the competition formally adopt the new Country Rugby League constitution and elect an inaugural board of directors.

Mick Schmiedel, Peter Blom, Ray McCoy, Michael Gleeson, Michael Hines, Lindsay Bowne and Barry Pratten were elected as directors.

Schmiedel, the incumbent Group 4 president, was then elected as chairman.

The return of Wee Waa to the First Division Cup boosts that competition to six teams for the upcoming season.

Second Division’s Shield will featured 11 clubs, down on last year’s 13 with Quirindi unable to field a side and Wee Waa stepping up.

As a result, there will be just one tier rather than the two-tier system trialled in 2016, with some games scheduled for Sundays.

Second Division kicks-off the local rugby league season on March 18, with the opening round of the First Division slated for the weekend of April 29-30.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide