Attunga Down Under


SATURDAY’S twilight Sibelco Down Under Attunga Rodeo contained every ingredient possible to make it the nail-biting spectacular it became for the record crowd in attendance.

Attunga talents Luke Morgan (saddlebronc) and Janette Glass (steer undecorating) won their respective events and Will Miller and Brady Smith retained their World Championship Cowhide Drag crown, while in the bullride, athletic little bull Cattle Duffer flung two of the three protection clowns around in what announcer and former saddlebroncer Glenn Morgan described as “a game of Knock Em Down Bullfighter”.

That exhibition came when Cattle Duffer offloaded bullrider Matt Phingst after his 74-point ride, and the protection clowns – in doing their unenviable job – rushed in to assist Phingst.

Thankfully no one was hurt in the scuffle.

But it was Tamworth teenager Cody Berriman who netted 80 points aboard Little Soldier to win the bullride over Coonamble’s Troy Burtenshaw (Flying Doctor) one point behind and Tamworth’s Wes Brooker (King of the Road) trailing a further two points.

Local mum Janette Glass showed she still had it over the younger riders (including her daughter Teagan) to win the steer undecorating in a quick 2.08sec while ABCRA’s 2011 saddlebronc champion Luke Morgan rode Indian Chief to 77 points and victory in the Bill Newman Memorial Saddlebronc.

And the World Championship Cowhide Drag continued to wow the crowd as defending champions Will Miller and Brady Smith made short work of their rivals to retain the crown.

Others to make the winner’s list include Jo Farquhar (ladies barrel), Stuart Dixon (steerwrestling), Riley Reid (Under 11 poddy ride), Dee Heinemann (bareback), Troy Caban/Steve Mapp (team roping), Bradie Gray (junior bullride with 83 points), Braith Nock (Under 14 barrel) and Anne Woodham (breakaway roping).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide