Tamworth eyes trophy treble

TAMWORTH will be striving to win three more trophies on Sunday to go with their War Veterans Cup and MA Connolly Cup trophies.

While the Tamworth First XI and the Tamworth Colts are headed south to Scone to try to win the Coalboard and 2TMO Cups against Hunter Valley opponents, a third team is off to Armidale to play in the KFC Northern Inland Twenty20 Tournament.

That NIT20 was washed out last Sunday and being re-run this Sunday.

“We’re hoping to send a third team to Armidale as well,” said Don Lewington, Tamworth District Cricket Association’s chairman of selectors.

“We’ll see how we go. It’s a bit of a stretch but at this stage it will be a pretty young side with Jimmie Psarakis to captain.

“But it would be nice to win all three on Sunday. It’s a dream and would be a great way to finish the representative season.”

Tamworth’s First XI is close to full strength and missing only skipper and Australian Country wicketkeeper Tom Groth, who is off to England.

While he’s missing, top order bat Kris Halloran returns.

“Kris will make a big difference,”  Lewington said.

“Grothy’s unavailable and off overseas but Matty Everett comes up from the Colts.”

Nick Pearson will be the new Tamworth First skipper, with TDCA president Richard Bullock taking over as skipper of Tamworth Colts from Matt Everett.

“And Jimmie Psarakis will skipper the Twenty20 side,” Lewington added.

“He’s been scoring runs in first grade and is certanly one of the best bats in town.

“He’s a good leader too (plenty of junior experience leading Tamworth Blue and Gold sides) and will have a few old heads there to help as well.”

South Tamworth pair Richard Rowlings and James Hammond have been named in the T20 side in a side that also contains NSW Under 19 allrounder Harrison Kelly, North Tamworth allrounders Jason Stacpoole and Leo Steyn and South Tamworth’s Josh Crowe, who is running second in the TDCA Best and Fairest Award.


TAMWORTH 1st XI (Scone): Nick Pearson (capt), Michael Rixon, Simon Norvill, Adam Jones, Kris Halloran, Adam Lole, Aaron Hazlewood, Ben Chew, Matt Everett, Hamish Batley, Angus McNeil, Jack McVey

TAMWORTH COLTS (Scone): Richie Bullock (capt), Joey Holt, Matt Kent, Mitch Holt, Ben Semmler, Deklan Baker, Adam Pearson, Luke Paterson, Ted Alderton, Jake Everett, Layne Berry, Simon Toyer

TAMWORTH T20 (Armidale): James Psarakis (capt), Jack Cameron, Harrison Kelly, Richard Rowlings, Jason Stacpoole, James Hammond, Richie O’Halloran, Josh Crowe, Jarrad Abra, Leo Steyn, Daniel Cunningham, Chaise Crough, Matt Dunn.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide