Local heroes honoured

EIGHT current and former residents of Tamworth, Armidale, Werris Creek, Narrabri, Coonabarabran and Goondiwindi are recipients of Australia Day honours.

And despite each person's many achievements, it seems nobody ever expects to receive that

letter in the mail.

David Evans of Tamworth, Dennis Landrigan of Werris Creek, Jim Thomas of Narrabri, Wolfgang Bredereck of Coonabarabran and Joan Hamilton of Goondiwindi will each receive a medal of the Order of Australia (general division).

Former Tamworth resident Don Spencer will also receive this award.

Meanwhile, Wal Whalley of Armidale and former Armidale man Keith Entwistle have been named members in the Order of Australia (general division).

The recipients described being "thrilled", "staggered" and "astounded" but said they also felt extremely proud to be selected.

They will have an investiture ceremony in April or May.

The Australia Day Honours allow individuals or groups to nominate and recognise their fellow Australians who have made significant contributions to the community.

The Order of Australia is the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service.

The Member of the Order of Australia is awarded for service in a particular field or to a particular group.

Once a person has been put forward for an honour, Government House agents in Canberra do further research and contact referees.

The 19-member Council for the Order of Australia evaluates the nominations and makes its recommendations to the Governor-General.

Full photographic coverage of last night's Australia Day concert will be in Saturday's Northern Daily Leader.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide